How education changed my life

  Mbali

I was born at Mary mount Hospital in Johannesburg and my mother returned me home to Siyabuswa. I was left with nannies while my fiercely independent mother went to work in order to support us. I was sent to crèche at the age of 3 and when I turned 5, all my siblings started going to school. I recall asking my mother in my tiny 5 year old voice, “When will I go to school? I don’t want to go back to crèche”. That marked the beginning of my schooling career.

In February 1997 I was enrolled at Good Shepard Model C School, for my primary schooling. I skipped Preparatory School, and missed that chance to graduate with my mates at crèche. The school was a newly built private school and classes were in a rented house; the Grade 1 pupils schooled in the garage and the Grade 2 pupils in the Kitchen, Grade 3 in the living room, etc. We only had school from Monday to Thursday, those were definitely wonderful times. I was the youngest in my class; however I was seldom the brightest. However, my teachers always saw potential in me, which I could not see in myself. I never received a prize at Prize giving, and my marks were very average. It was only in high school that I discovered that I was actually capable on doing better, I started working harder and I was getting better results. Even then I was not in the Top10 of my school.

In the first week of matric we were taken to a church service, which was a motivational service. I realised that week that this year was going to determine how the rest of my life would be. I knew I had to pull up my socks that year or else I would work hard for the rest of my life. I knew how much my parents were struggling to pay for my brothers fees and I did not want to burden them. In matric I also took part in many cultural/arts extramural activities while also focusing on my academics. Many times the notion of quitting popped into my head because it seemed very demanding. But at the end of my matric, I received the honour of Dux scholar which meant that I had not only excelled in my academics but that I was a well-rounded individual who contributed to enhancing the schools image and pride in the Witbank arts festival. This was a defining moment for me because I was the first black female valedictorian in my high school and I will never forget the cheers in the hall as I went up to receive my award. I remember how my mother cried, and the pride that my parents felt that day was insurmountable, I could feel it. I have never seen my mother that happy. I knew from that day on what one can accomplish only if they set their minds on that one goal. To this day I am not afraid to take risks, and strive for what I truly want.

So in 2008, I applied for a bursary which also required good results and I received a bursary with BHP Billiton Manganese. This bursary was valid in 2008 only if I got accepted into a university. My heart was set on the University of the Witwatersrand and even though I didn’t have many distinctions in university I had faith and confidence that I with hard work I could get into that university. I applied and got placed on a waiting list. I knew that I needed to go the extra mile, especially in my Maths and Science as I had applied for Chemical Engineering and had received a bursary to study chemical engineering. Through the grace of God and hard work I managed to obtain 92% in Mathematics and 80% in Physical Sciences. And a few days later I received a call from the university to let me know that I had been accepted to study Chemical engineering at the Wits. I can still remember the excitement and jubilation I felt as if it was yesterday. My whole family was extremely proud of me.

I then went to University which was a culture shock, but one thing I realised early on in my life was that you will always need people in order to succeed                                                                          .Mbali5

No man is an Island, and I needed good friends to walk the journey with me. I made good friends early on and we used to study together and encourage one another. We were a hard working group and dedicated those 4 years to doing the best, so that we could one day have options and live comfortably. Those 4 years were some of the toughest times of my life. Towards the end of my first year in university, I went through the untimely passing of my eldest brother. This was a truly devastating and emotional period, and the fact that I was writing my first year finals did not help much. In every person’s life you have a choice, you can allow the situation to deter you from your goals, or you can will yourself to go on and I chose to not only will myself but to excel in my brothers honour. I converted all my pain and anger into the drive that I needed to study hard and excel in my exams. I’m proud to say that ended that year with an outstanding record. I managed to get a few distinctions and was one of the Top 15% in the university, which reinforced what I had always believed, no situation is fixed and anything can be turned into an opportunity to show what you are truly made of.

I was never the smartest during my schooling. But I worked hard to obtain my schooling and since then I have had a good life. Since studying I have worked for BHP Billiton as a junior engineer and because of my work ethic. I have been given opportunities to take part in my projects around the country. I have travelled to many places in the country. Having a salary has not only changed my life but it has changed my family’s life.Having an education has put a bar above the rest and has given me pride and confidence. After I received my appointment letter, Ibought myself a Golf 6 TSI comfort line, which my parents would not have been able to buy for me. Education has given my family pride in more ways than I can describe.It has given me options;I can literally spread my wings and swore. Education has made my dreams come true; I have been able to travel overseas.

Mbali 4Mbali 2

I love living in the lap of luxury and wearing what I want to. I have met people who are like minded and driven and through this I have met the love of my life. My biggest dream was to help my family in any way that they needed help and I have since been able to do this. Education has truly unlocked my future and there is no limit.

Mbali 3

Written by Mbali Skosana

#Girlrising #Beboldforgirls

Leave a comment