How Education changed my Life.

IMG_59174085601792

EDUCATION has allowed me to spread my wings wider than I can ever imagine. I now  believe that I can achieve anything I set my mind to.

Education has given me the freedom to speak and be heard; to be seen as something more than just a pretty face but be seen as someone whose opinion actually matters.

My education has empowered me to challenge men and women likewise, young and old, black and white, and to be called their equal.

My education has allowed me to hold esteemed positions without being classed as someone who ‘slept’ her way to the top.

Education has made me a worthy opponent and partner, it has allowed me to be the unequivocally independent woman I am today.

Through it, I have learnt when to speak and when to listen; when to lead, and when to follow, most importantly, I’ve learnt to fight for the things that I believe in.

Through my education, I have the freedom to choose whether to be a stay at home super mom and wife, or to be a force to be reckoned with professionally or both.

IMG_59666967712388

My education has taught me to respect those who chose not to follow the same path I have without being judgemental.  It has taught me compassion and humility.

My education has also and most importantly ignited in me the desire to guide the younger generation to make the right decisions in life in a world where some are forced to prostitute themselves to put food on the table; where (some) men still see women as gold diggers who are only good enough to be trophies, barefoot and pregnant without any say, where a man’s provision as head of the house for your well-being comes with abuse and control, where parents want nothing but the best for their children and the impediment called apartheid can no longer be used as an excuse.

Education has allowed me to be of sound mind, to have a powerful voice, to not feel inferior, to not be forced to do things I do not want to do, and to dream without limits.

I once was a girl who had to get lunch from her grade one teacher because there wasn’t enough money or food for me to carry lunch to school.

I then became a child who had to see her friends go off to boarding school because my mom couldn’t afford the expense, then I became the girl who survived on R300 a month at varsity who had to learn how to make ends meet.

Years later, I’m sitting with 2 degrees, the most recent being a Law degree (LLB), and a contract with one of the top law firms in the country.  I cannot even begin to explain the freedom that comes with that.

IMG_59649070007310

Education, has absolutely changed my life, for the better. I am not and will not be defined by my circumstances.

Written by Mmaphuti Morolong

#GirlRising #BeboldforGirls

Leave a comment