How education changed my life.

Peo 4

I first realized the importance of education when I went abroad for the first time. The fact that I was surrounded by so many things and people that I was oblivious to,was just mind boggling for me. South Africa has one of the weakest standards of education in the world yet we continue to ponder on the fact that we want more of this and that, Furthermore we fail to see that with the very many educational opportunities we are given, its a chance to break free of the cycle of poverty. I could have easily been part of a statistic. Going to high school with lower than average marks, getting pregnant in my teenage years and dropping out of school. I chose to take the road less traveled and I could not be more thankful to my mentors and parents for believing in me and helping me see what was unclear to me before.I cannot begin to express the pain and disappointment I feel when students who possess such potential succumb to mediocrity or conforming to what others say. Especially one who comes from financial difficulties or a disadvantaged background. One cannot use their circumstances as an excuse or a crutch. Nothing is impossible, opportunities surround us everyday and it is up to us to grab them.

Peo 3

Had I not been exposed to the many academics that I have had the privilege to be around or the opportunities such as traveling, leading and just being exposed not to mention the disappointments and challenges ,I would not be half the person I am today. Education is not restricted to the classroom, teaching and learning comes in all shapes and forms, just

open your eyes to it.

Peo 7

As a young girl from Kuruman who has been to parts of the world I never would have thought I would ever go to, I can now say I am open minded and most importantly to me, I think, not only that I think critically . I do IT not only for myself, but those who follow me so that they too can pass the baton.

Peo 6

Look at it this way, even if you have nothing. If education is the only thing you have, no one can take it away from you because it is within you. -Peo Morwesi Segano #GirlRising

Leave a comment